Comfort Zones

cz

One of the hardest challenges to face while dealing with anxiety, is coming out of your comfort zone. It’s easy to keep doing what you know you can do and handle situations the same way you always have.

However, a wise friend once told me, you’ll never get anywhere in life, if you don’t step out of your comfort zone and try new things.

Right now, I’m struggling to figure out how to step out of my own comfort zone. I am incredibly shy and very anxious about doing things without knowing the end result. It is very hard for me to go up and talk to people I do not know and it is almost as hard for me to make a phone call. I feel so uncomfortable reaching out to others, especially if I think I’ll be judged for what I’m asking. It’s one big cycle of being too anxious to make a change.

However, I recently decided that it was time to make a change for myself. For 22 years, I’ve been doing what I am supposed to do, because I did not want to get into trouble and I did not want to get judged.

During the past two years, my family and friends have been telling me I have to step out of my comfort zone and stop being so shy and anxious about new situations. And while it was rewarding to know you have people behind you during such a big journey, you can’t change because others want you to.

I’ve realized that even though, I want to be less shy and less anxious, I have to want to change for me, not anyone else. If you don’t believe you can step out of your comfort zone, then you won’t be able to. But as soon as you believe in yourself, changes can be made.

With comfort zones, I always thought I would have to step out of it 100% all at once. However, like most journey’s, small steps and goals are the way to go. Make each step something you can accomplish. And once you do, move on to the next one. It could be something as simple as making a phone call instead of sending a text. Each step along your journey, shows how strong of a person you are. And with smaller goals, it’s easier to believe in yourself.

As much as I enjoy my life right now, I know I want more. I do not want my anxiety to hold me back. I want to do things for me, not for others. So I am going to slowly come out of my comfort zone for me. And along the way, I know I am going to fail, but I will not let that stop me from succeeding later on.

I hope that anyone who reads this and feels stuck in their comfort zone, that you one day find the strength I know you have inside of you to make a change. I believe in you and I know you can believe in yourself!

Until Next Time!

sig

One thought on “Comfort Zones

Leave a comment